My Sensational Son SPD stories, Uncategorized

To My Sensitive boy

To my sweet sensitive boy:

IMG_2796 (2).JPG

I always want the best for you. I always want you to be who you are. I don’t want the world to change you.

The sensitivity in your soul is not emasculate. It means you have a big heart. It means you feel things for people. It means you understand when you have wronged someone and hurt them feel bad.  Don’t let the world make you think differently.

We went to a teacher conference of sorts for you recently. They said they would “work on when it’s appropriate for you to be upset.” That it would help with the sensitivity.

I don’t see your sensitivity as a problem sweetheart. Rather, a gift. I have the sweetest most amazing boy wrapped in that five year old body. And that sensitivity is a big reason why.

I think that is appropriate for you to be upset, when you feel upset. There shouldn’t be standards set on what you are feeling. It’s working through those emotions that help.

But this is coming from your “over sensitive” mama. My whole life I have been told that I’m over, or too sensitive. And I have learned to love me, for me. It has taken a long time. People were constantly telling me that what I felt was wrong just because they didn’t see things the same way.

I have owned that now. If someone can’t figure out how to see something from another person’s perspective, then why would I want to socialize with them in the first place?

I had to relearn that love for myself. I don’t want that for you.  I want you to have it all along.

You are sensitive. And that is okay. It does not make you any less than anyone else. You just see things differently. Because of that you may love harder, hurt easier, and truly become disgusted with those that don’t understand. It’s even okay if you don’t react in the way you want to. I cannot tell you how many times I have cried in an argument or when talking about something heavy because I get overwhelmed.  I felt weak because of it.  It is not weakness, love.  It is strength.

What’s important for us sensitive souls is to do two things really. Stick up for yourself. People will take advantage of you. Or they will at least try. It has taken me a long time and I’m still working on this myself. You will become resentful of not only that person, but yourself. It will eat you up inside. So say no, it’s okay. Tell someone it’s not okay to talk to you the way they are. You don’t have to feel guilty about it saying and doing what is best for you. The second thing…and this is so so important…do not make excuses for people because you understand them. Just because you can understand why a person did what they did, or said what they said, does not excuse their behavior. You can forgive them. But forgive them for your own peace of mind and move on. If they can’t acknowledge what they did, don’t give them an easy out.

Don’t let the world harden you. Surround yourself with people that brings that big heart to the forefront. Let no one tell you, how to be you. Only you can do that. And most importantly, make no apologies for who you are.

Love,
Your mama

Leave a Reply

